Governance : University Council

The University Council is the University’s highest decision-making body.  It has the necessary legal authority and attributions to enact rules and regulations pertaining to administrative, academic and financial affairs.

The Council is headed by the University President. He prepares and executes its recommendations, receives proposals and sets the agenda for the Council’s meetings. A quorum of one third of Council members may petition the president to hold a special meeting if deemed in the interest of the University.

The Council has the legal right to deliberate in the presence of at least half of its members. If this legal quorum is not met, the meeting is adjourned and can be legally held after eight days even in absence of a quorum.

Decisions are made by majority vote. In case of a tie, the president’s vote is decisive.

Functions and Duties:

  • Take all necessary measures to improve University governance;
  • Propose academic reforms and avail means to improve the quality of education;
  • Establish the Council and the University internal regulations;
  • Approve accreditation proposals submitted by the University institutions;
  • Approve curricula;
  • Discuss and approve the University budget;
  • Set guidelines for student orientation and improve student access to information;
  • Promote cultural and sporting activities;
  • Recommend measures to improve student employability at graduation;
  • Approve MoUs with private institutions of higher education;
  • Approve new diplomas proposed by the University institution councils and set the criteria for awarding them;
  • Propose the creation of new institutions;
  • Approve the establishment of centers proposed by the University institution councils;
  • Accept donations;
  • Manage the University’s academic affairs.

The Council delegates its administrative and financial attributions to the Management Board, which is composed of an equal number of appointed and elected members.

The Council has permanent and ad-hoc committees whose membership is open to all council members. It may delegate any of its power, functions or duties to one of these committees or to the President.



The University Council is composed of ex officio members, appointed members and elected members:

Ex Officio Members:

  • The University President
  • The Mayor of the Rabat Municipal Council
  • The President of the Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region Council
  • The Director of the Education and Training Academy of Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region
  • The President of the Ulema Council of the Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region
  • Deans and Directors of the University institutions

Appointed Members:

Seven members: Six from economic and social spheres of whom presidents of professional chambers and one from a private institution of higher education.

Elected Members:

  • Three members per institution representing each teaching faculty rank elected by and from their peers
  • Three members elected by and from the University administrative staff
  • Three members elected by and from the University students

MVU-A Council Members

I- Ex Officio Members:

Wail Benjelloun

President, Mohammed V University-Agdal (President of the University Council)

Abdelkabir Berkia

President, Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region

Abdallah Guedira

President, Scientific Council of Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region

Fathallah Oualalou

President of Rabat Council

Mohamed Aderdour

Director, Education and Training Academy of Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region

Saaid Amzazi

Dean, Faculty of Science

Abderrahim Benhadda

Dean, Faculty of Letters and Humanities

El Habib Eddaqqaq

Dean, Faculty of Law, Economics and Social Sciences

My Larbi Abidi

Director,  Mohammadia School of Engineering

Mohammed Rhachi

Director,  High School of Technology

Ahmed El Hassani

Director,  Scientific Institute

Fatiha Benlabah

Director, Institute of Hispanic and Lusophone Studies

Hassane Jaziri

Director, Teacher Training School

II- Appointed Members:

Ait Slimane Larbi

President, Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Services -Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region

Taher El Filali

President, Chamber for Agriculture-Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer Region

Mohamed Boulahcen

President, Chamber for Traditional Industry- Rabat-Temara Region

Anass Houir Alami

General Director, CDG (Deposit and Management Bank)

Rabii Lakhlii

General Director, National Railway Office (ONCF)

Saâd Kabbaj

Director, International Institute for Higher Education in Morocco

Mohammed Elyoussi

Representative, Higher Education Trade Union

III- Elected Members:

Abdelkbir Bellaouchou

Professor, Faculty of Science

Hocein Bazairi

Associate Professor, Faculty of Science

Bouazza Elbenani

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Science

Abdessalam Dachmi

Professor, Faculty of Letters and Humanities

Mohammed Saidi

Assistant Professor,  Faculty of Letters and Humanities

Taoufiq Yahyaoui

Associate Professor,  Faculty of Law, Economics and Social Sciences

Abdelkrim Kandrouch

Assistant Professor,  Faculty of Law, Economics and Social Sciences

Anas Emran

Professor, Scientific Institute

Mohammed Achab

Associate Professor, Scientific Institute


Assistant Professor, Scientific Institute

Mohamed Cherkaoui

Professor, Mohammadia School of Engineering

Laila Benhlima

Associate Professor, Mohammadia School of Engineering

Fatima Zahra Belouadha

Assistant Professor, Mohammadia School of Engineering

Hilal Drissi Lahsini

Professor, School of  General Technology

Mohammed Oumssiss 

Associate Professor, School of  General Technology

Jalal Kettar

Assistant Professor, School of General Technology

Rachid Sadaka

Professor, Teacher Training School

Khadija Nerci

Associate Professor, Teacher Training School

Ahmed Belhaj

Assistant Professor, Teacher Training School

Mohamed Dahou

Doctorate Student, Faculty of Science

Zakaria Elmarzouki

Master’s Student, Faculty of Science

Anass Ezzaoui

Bachelor’s Student, Faculty of Science

Abdelilah Moutez

Administrative staff, Teacher Training School

Hassan Karoud

Administrative staff, Faculty of Science

Ouafae Benosmane

Administrative staff, Mohammadia School of Engineering